County Selection List

If you are interested in hosting Massachusetts or a Massachusetts County,
Please contact the Webmaster

County Date Parent County County Seat Coordinator
Barnstable 1685 Original Three Counties Barnstable  
Berkshire 1761 Hampshire Pittsfield  
Bristol 1685 Original Three Counties Taunton  
Dukes 1695 Martha's Vineyard and Elizabeth Islands Edgartown  
Essex 1643 Original Four County Salem and Lawrence  
Franklin 1811 Hampshire County Greenfield  
Hampden 1812 Hampshire County Springfield  
Hampshire 1662 Unorganized Territory Northampton  
Middlesex 1643 Original Four Counties Cambridge and Lowell  
Nantucket 1695 Nantucket Island and Dukes County NY Nantucket  
Norfolk 1793 Suffolk County Dedham  
Plymouth 1685 Original Three Counties Plymouth and Brockton  
Suffolk 1643 Original Four Counties Boston  
Worchester 1731 Hampshire, Middlesex and Suffolk County Worcester  

Past County List

County Created Abolished Location
Cumberland 1760 1820 Transferred to Maine
Devonshire 1674 1675 Abolished
Hancock 1789 1820 Transferred to Maine
Kennebec 1799 1820 Transferred to Maine
Lincoln 1760 1820 Transferred to Maine
Old Norfolk 1643 1679 Abolished- most territory to New Hampshire
Oxford 1805 1820 Transferred to Maine
Penobscot 1816 1820 Transferred to Maine
Somerset 1809 1820 Transferred to Maine
Washington 1789 1820 Transferred to Maine
York 1652 1820 Transferred to Maine Abolished twice

AHGP Massachusetts

Research Links
A few links for you to explore in search of your research (off site)
Massachusetts Cemetery Records
Massachusetts Census Records
Bayfield, Essex County Baptisms
First and Second Church at Marblehead, Massachusetts
History of Lynn Massachusetts
The Midway Biographies
Boston Notarial Records
Massachusetts Forts
Indian Tribes of Massachusetts


Hosted Free by

Copyright August © 2011 - 2023 AHGP - The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.